Mayor, trustees, judge win uncontested Rhinebeck village elections

Fewer than 100 voters hit the polls for Rhinebeck village elections last week, due both to wintry weather and no contested seats, so the mayor, three trustees and the village judge were triumphant in their bids for office.

The candidates were all cross-endorsed in January caucuses by Rhinebeck Democrats and Republicans and faced no contenders.
When polls closed at 9pm on Tuesday, March 19, James Reardon, a Republican who has been mayor for four years and served two years as a village board trustee before that, had 95 votes, ensuring another two-year term as mayor.

Incumbent village board trustees Howie Traudt, a member of the Independence Party, and Heinz Sauer, a Democrat, were each handed two more years on the board by the voters who turned out – with Traudt receiving 95 votes and Sauer getting 92 votes, village officials told The Observer.

Heath Tortarella, who sought the remaining year of the trustee seat vacated in December by now-State Senator Terry Gipson and is not a member of any party, received 91 votes.

Village Judge Will Sanchez, a Republican, was ensured another four-year term with 96 votes.

Village officials said there were also four write-in votes for trustees and one for the mayor’s seat for a Howard Dean – a possible reference to the former Vermont governor and 2004 presidential candidate.

Facebook Comments

Enjoy having this local, independent, nonprofit news source? Help us keep reporting and become a member today. Already a member? Sign in to get rid of this notice.