6 at Rhinebeck High named Merit Scholarship Commended Students

Rhinebeck High School has announced that James Fleischhauer, Nicholas Hoynes, Kristoff Lalicki, Nir Lavi-Romer, Madeleine Olson, and Alexander Slayton have been named Commended Students in the 2014 National Merit Scholarship Program.

About 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Commended students place among the top 5 percent of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2014 competition by taking the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).

“The young men and women being named Commended Students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success,” commented a spokesperson for the National Merit Scholarship Corporation said in a news release. “These students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation.”

Facebook Comments

Enjoy having this local, independent, nonprofit news source? Help us keep reporting and become a member today. Already a member? Sign in to get rid of this notice.